A Special Wedding Day

It was supposed to be a joyful day. It had meant so much to be here for her youngest daughter’s wedding. The wig didn‘t fit well-it didn’t look like her hair. The wheelchair seemed to overtake the room. Still, she had her husband push her up the ramp, the unity candle lit in her pale, shaking hands. She smiled at the groom’s beautiful, healthy mother as they took their candles, and touched them to the wick of the larger candle. Together, the flames united their families forever-a word she couldn’t even dream of. She was smiling at her daughter, so beautiful, as the sanctuary doors opened. She had made it. The joy flowed through her tears.

15 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Nice one ! I have never heard of the mothers lighting of the Unity Candle that is pretty cool.

    • 2

      beebeesworld said,

      i HAVE HEARD THAT FROM SEVERAL people-do the bride and groom usually do it? I just remember going up on the “stage” with the other mom and us lighting it, symbolizing our families uniting-i was so sick at my daughters, but I know I went up on stage and lit candles at other ones…

      • 3

        Yes it is usually bride and groom. but I love this idea good write too. hope you are doing ok I have not been well lately myself so not writing much. love ya sister~friend.

      • 4

        beebeesworld said,

        Len My son stays on his game on here so much, I have to fight to get on-I let it go a day and a half and had 250 emails about the blogs etc-I have tried to answer all I can, but like you, I cant keep up sometimes. Thanks for stayin in touch, beebee

  2. 5

    [...] Special Wedding Day Share this:TwitterFacebookStumbleUponEmailLinkedInLike this:Like9 bloggers like this. This entry was posted in 100WCGU and tagged 100WCGU by jfb57. Bookmark the permalink. [...]

  3. 6

    jfb57 said,

    This is very touching and so sad yet joyful.

    Not sure what happened but the link was not there. I have linked it for you & you should now see it on the front page. Out of interest, when you linked did you go to another page?

    • 7

      beebeesworld said,

      I probably said this on one of your links I was trying to reach you through, but I posted to my home board, “beebeesworld” with the first tag listed as your site 100WCGU-if this isn’t what I should do, please let me know-if you havent already-my email is backed up and I am trying to go thru it now thanks for your help. beebee

  4. 8

    Sandra Bennett said,

    A moving tribute to all those who struggle to survive, and who are living with cancer and other hideous diseases.

  5. 9

    Gilly Gee said,

    I’d never heard of a unity candle bbefore! Really good and emotive!

    • 10

      beebeesworld said,

      Having been raised baptist, I was not familiar with it, but had seen “Unity candles” done in other weddings-four of my kids have had “unity candle ceremonies-where the two mothers join the flames of their candles together on one larger candle. It is quite inspiring.-This story was inspired by my experience-I had lost a son, had gotten a pituitary tumor from the traumatic loss, and had surgery.(the drs had told me I would have had 3 weeks to live without it-the tumor was wrapping around my carotid artery.) For my youngest daughters wedding, I had to be helped up the steps to light the candle. My health has improved, but I have lost a best friend to cancer and have two cousins now with “months to live” prognoses-so I wrote it in their honor and from my experience….Thank you for reading. Your work is inspiring, educational and always interesting! beebee

  6. 11

    Tessa said,

    And inspiring story. I was trying to remember who lit the candle at my daughter’s wedding. I thought them, but now I am thinking the 2 mothers. It bothers me that I can’t remember a wedding that happened around 7 years ago. I am glad your health has improved.

  7. 12

    So very touching and sweet a story. I liked it very much. it is a shame tha it had to end. I would love to have i continue.
    Well done …
    Isadora

  8. 13

    Mayumi-H said,

    Very lovely! This line in particular is so poignant: …forever-a word she couldn’t even dream of. I knew exactly where this was headed the moment I read the part about the wig…but that does not make the brimming feelings any less significant.
    Well done!

  9. 14

    A very nice read. Thanks for the info.

  10. 15

    Outstanding use of the challenge! Downright beautiful!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,100 other followers

