To my Son on His First Birthday

Image

You only want the simple things
a field of grass in summer green,
a flower blowing in the wind,
a kitten for your favorite friend.
You only want to see the rain
spatter on the windowpane,
or feel the rays of golden sun,
for after all you’re only one.

In loving memory of my son Andrew who would have been 21 on 9-8-12

18 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    christina said,

    beautiful and so touching.

  2. 2

    boomiebol said,

    May he continue to rest in peace

  3. 3

    No words I can say except Happy birthday
    Andrew! May you forever rest in peace and
    keep watch over your momma.

  4. 4

    fromthomas77b said,

    Beautiful, Sonshines bright !

  5. 5

    billgncs said,

    I am glad you remember and honor him. It just seems right.

  6. 6

    Sandra Bennett said,

    Thinking of Andy…

  7. 7

    Robyn Lee said,

    Beautiful Beautiful poem to honor your sweet boy. Hugs to you beebee ~ x

  8. 8

    cafecasey said,

    This is very touching. I think you are inspirational for being able to include this, and it makes me feel very blessed as I’m thinking about my little boy. Thank you.

    • 9

      beebeesworld said,

      Thank you for your kind comment. Never waste a minute or presume youre presence can prevent disaster. I am a very over protective mom, thinking , If I am there, all iis well. My son was just playing baseball-they were between innings. He just started acting like he was hurting, but his hand to his head and another parent asked is something was wrong, we started running to eachother, he started to fall just as we reached eachother. I was screaming “cll 911″ I dont think the person who called 911 even stayed on the phine and a fire dept was in sight of the ball part and they didnt come-it was 10+ minutes before an ambulance came, a nurse cam up but did nothing. I didnt recognize he was in heart failure-I know now what it looks like, I have to live everyday knowing that If Id known, Id have been doing chest compressions, and I have to wonder why a fire truck couldnt make a left and come down a long parking lot. I feel llike he died for nothing and what it has done to me and others around me is unspeakable. Give yiur child every bit of love you have, every day-I iimagine yoiu do anyway, I did…bless you for caring.beebee

      • 10

        cafecasey said,

        It’s wonderful that you’ve been able to be selfless and give inspiration to so many others. I know he is watching with joy and pride.

  9. 11

    I am not a writer, nor poet or gifted with words. I am however sending you my humble feelings of love, support and hugs as you mark this time. Peace to you dear beebee.

  10. 13

    Gilly Gee said,

    Dear Beebee I am so sorry that such a terrible thing happened and you lost your precious boy. There is a huge lesson of awareness to be learnt. Bless you, enjoy the precious memories you have and take care

  11. 17

    Your beautiful poem was a focal point in my household today. My wife and I read it to our only son (8-years-old) to express how much we love him. He really enjoyed it, asking us to recite it several times. While I fight back tears thinking of your pain, I appreciate you giving this poem and relaying your experience, because it allowed my family to share a very special day.

    Thanks and God bless.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,107 other followers

