Autumn Ending

One day, I notice a crunch of leaves beneath my feet,
The fading final blooms of wild asters brushing my shoulders.
I spy the orb web of an araneus spider blowing in the wind.
The morning mist sends a chill down my cheek,
When only days ago, the mist had me whispering  a quiet, “Ahhh!”

The fields, once filled with clumps  of multicolored leaves and mushrooms
Are now  deeply covered in deep, crisp, and ruffled leaves of brown.
The tempting smoothness of buckeyes, sends young  children,
Out into the fields to gather them, smooth, round, tempting, into baskets.
I reach down and find one, memories, flooding in.

Though pines are not supposed to shed leaves, it seems that they do.
Perhaps not all at once, but I can gather them as mulch for my azaleas.
A silent flock of nameless birds flies overhead, southward bound.
Only their silhouettes against the creamy blue sky reveals their path.
I wonder where their flight will lead them, what they seek.

With a sudden gasp, the heat of summer  becomes early autumn
and then a chill sweeps the land, dries the leaves, calms the growing.
I wander among the fading leaves and fallen mast crops,
Thinking of the difficult days ahead, that first snow flake.
Soon, I will hunt for the first sprig of green. Time, life, leaves me breathless.

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    coville123 said,

    I love your writing,please write a book i will be first in line to get it!

  2. 2

    Sandra Bennett said,

    I find Hope in your sharing this…and Thankfulness that I am still around to enjoy it…Let’s stay strong for the both of us !

  3. 3

    Truly a beautiful write , you have captured the season so beautifully.

  4. 4

    Lucid Gypsy said,

    Beautiful observation of the season!

  5. 5

    Stefania said,

    Very beautiful poem dedicated to autumn! Autumn is a season so beautiful. Thank you very much for having shared with us! Have a wonderful evening! Be blessed with much happiness! Stefania fondly! :)

  6. 6

    What a wonderful write up.

  7. 7

    zouarvehat said,

    Wonderful! Wonderful!

  8. 8

    Hi! I have nominated you for The Super Sweet Blogging Award http://wp.me/p27eXb-9G Congratulations!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 842 other followers

