The Seasons of Life

As the inspiring colors of Appalachian autumn drift into etchings of cut-glass frost on winters windows, I am overtaken by a nostalgia deep in my soul. Here, I recall the days of  immense joy and unbearable sorrow that life has brought to me.

I think of the soft breath of my newborn child, the harsh emptiness of my mothers tombstone, the giggles of kids in Halloween costumes, a look of sheer delight upon the discovery of a hidden Easter egg, of how quickly time slips by, leaving us breathless.

And winter will bring another blank page, yet to be filled. Yesterday, today, tomorrow…life.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    cafecasey said,

    Beautiful as usual.

  2. 2

    Lucid Gypsy said,

    Beautifully written.

  3. 4

    brudberg said,

    Very touching and emotional. I also envy the smooth flow that makes this a little master piece.

  4. 5

    Delft said,

    Your first sentence draws one not only into a different world, but a different mood, a different pace. Some melancholy, but also a touch of serenity. Beautiful.
    And I love the etchings of cut glass frost.

    • 6

      beebeesworld said,

      Thanks for reading my 1000wcgu blog titled “The Seasons of Life”. Your comments meant a lot to me. It is nice to know that my words may inspire feelings in others. Reading the word of other writers has definitely helped me to become a better writer myself! I will follow your blog and invite you to follow mine as well. beebeesworld

      ________________________________

  5. 7

    Lindy Lee said,

    Life, short & sweet as it is; enjoyable read…

  6. 9

    Touching and nice write.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 846 other followers

