Halloween Hearts

I planted a seed and from it grew,
A giant, beautiful golden fruit.
I couldn’t bear to cut in apart,
Rather, I gently began to carve,
A ghostly tree, a moon gliding past.
A gravestone  with memories of the past.
A wisp of a cloud above the tall tree-
A witch on her broom-perhaps it is me!
We gather and smile, admiring our art,
Filling our nightmares and Halloween hearts.

25 Responses so far »

  1. 4

    Lucid Gypsy said,

    Very richly textured Beebee :-)

  2. 9

    Such great imagery and feeling~

  3. 11

    Picturing in my mind…

  4. 13

    Oh this is so beautifully done. I had a go at a poem but made no attempt with rhyming; you have done a fab job.

  5. 15

    Delft said,

    Lovely balance between sadness and lightheartedness. Only the photo of the pumpkin is missing!

    • 16

      beebeesworld said,

      I know! I didnt have one. Most of my good “nature” type photos are on film. Its very frustrating. I have a digital now, my newest is very complicated. Hopefully, I will learn. thanks for readinf. beebeesworld

      ________________________________

  6. 17

    Ross Mannell said,

    More than just a fruit, the pumpkin becomes a piece of Halloween art as do your words. :)

  7. 19

    That sounds like a beautiful jack-o-lantern, almost as beautiful as the poem! I can picture it with a candle inside to make the etched images glow in a ghostly way.

  8. 21

    lorrainefort said,

    simple, beautiful, rhythmic. i really enjoyed the imagery, too. :)

  9. 22

    TBM said,

    Halloween hearts…I like that. Nice job.

  10. 23

    Kokomo said,

    This is very sweet! Halloween-candy ;) It’s so not creepy, I like it!

  11. 24

    Angela Ryan said,

    Very nicely done. Excellent lyrical quality (visiting from Write on Edge).


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 971 other followers

