The Button Jar

The veneer on the blonde wood dresser drawer was peeling off. Opening it, knowing it would be the last time, was so hard. I’d be putting  my mom’s precious memories in some box in my attic now..

I opened the drawer slowly, holding my breath. Scarves, gloves, fancy handkerchiefs-and then I saw it, her button jar.  I remembered my grandma’s button jars,  in the drawer of her foot pedaled sewing machine.  My own button jar was rarely used.  My daughter’s didn’t have one, it was passe’-out dated-no more.

Memories-mom looking for that perfect button. A tear caught up with my smile.

30 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I have a button box, filled with the extra buttons that come with lots of tops these days. But if I ever lost one, it would be hellish trying to find a match in that mass!!

  2. 2

    Sandra Bennett said,

    …such familiar sentiments we share of our mothers…

  3. 3

    Mary Ann said,

    I love your line “A tear caught up with my smile.”

  4. 4

    I have a button jar to remind me of my grams no other reason I can’t sew a stitch but they sure are pretty to look at and have lingering precious memories.

  5. 5

    Sandra said,

    I have a button jar too; must look for it. Nice take on the prompt.

  6. 6

    wmqcolby said,

    Poetic. My mom had a button jar, too! Very nice.

  7. 7

    stepheniemcpeake said,

    Memories are so precious, really lovely blog.

  8. 8

    Ah the memories this brings back! One of the greatest fascinations of my childhood was my mother’s button jar. Some of them were quite unique and I loved to take them out and play with them.
    Well crafted story.

    • 9

      beebeesworld said,

      I am honored by the response I got from this story! I really did go through my mom’s dresser and discover her button jar not too long ago-she passed in 2011. It was so nice to know that our families “button jar” history was one shared by so many people. Young folks who throw away old thing are missing out on a priceless memory for their children to someday enjoy!

  9. 10

    Lori Lipsky said,

    Time to go pour out the contents of my button jar and experience my own memories. I enjoyed the story. Thanks.

  10. 11

    journalplace said,

    Button jars were a treasure trove. Thanks.

  11. 12

    jane tims said,

    Hi. Nice post! I have a button jar and I actually use it. Buttons are great to fancy up a pillow. Jane

  12. 13

    billgncs said,

    I like the idea of a button jar, I am going to start one.

  13. 14

    Very nice, Beebee. Good memories.

  14. 15

    mari wells said,

    My daughter has a button jar. My two other daughters want jars too. I loved the memories that come with them. Thank you for reminding me of it.

  15. 16

    Your story brought back some old memories of my mother and grandmothers lives. Great piece of nostagia, authenic in its details. Ron

  16. 17

    My grandma used to have a button jar. I tried keeping one, but couldn’t figure out what to do with them, so tossed it. Nice story.

  17. 18

    This was deeply personal, I felt like I was watching something I shouldn’t, a precious moment one should have alone. VERY well done.

  18. 21

    rich said,

    sometimes tears and smiles work together. sometimes not.

  19. 24

    Button jar sits on top of the bookcase. Mom would be proud.

  20. 25

    Dear Beebee,

    This was beautiful.. My mom had a button drawer and the memory of it is a memory of her. Thank you for that.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  21. 27

    My first profession is tailor. You can imagine that we had loads of buttons. There were really seldom and precious buttons among them. Nacreous, Tagua nut, silver buttons and gold plated ones, also. The Father of my Master tailored uniforms in the Dirt Reich, so we had buttons from that decade, too.
    You made me remember how I was sitting there, stitching buttonholes by hand. Three more or less stupid young women around me and my Master making funny noises: Chrk, Chrk, Smk and HrmbrmOoaach.
    There was a dog that used to eat up the threads and pieces of leather laying on the floor. Sometimes it had to puke them out again.
    It was so much fun!
    My Grandma has had a box full of buttons and I still can hear her cursing, hoping that a curse may help to find one that fits.

    I have – exactly – one (loose) button in my home. It fell from a Poloshirt a couple of days ago. I washed it and now the button is gone.

  22. 28

    vb holmes said,

    After reading Der Silbenschmied’s comment above, it’s hard to get back into the tender mood of your lovely poem, Beebee. Suffice to say, I, like the others, enjoyed the memories it evoked.

  23. 29

    tedstrutz said,

    Your last line was beautiful. Yes, times change as new generations come along… lovely told story.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,095 other followers

