Silouette

Photo copyright Scott L. Vannatter

I kept hearing that sound-a mix of a far away scream and the howling of wind through some strange rock formation. “What was it?” I wondered as I sat huddled by the campfire with my brother and his friend.

We were both frightened and intrigued. Should we take off into the forest with only the moonlight and a small lantern to guide us, or ignore it, crawl into our warm sleeping bags in the tent and forget it?

And then we saw her, silhouetted against the rock at the top of the mountain. Her mystery and beauty held us all captive.

16 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Mountain lion, perhaps? Sounds like an adventure and quite the sight.

    (Although you got it later in the story, you forgot the “h” (silhouette) in your title.)

    Merry, merry Christmas!!

  2. 2

    journalplace said,

    Also Merry Christmas

  3. 3

    Oh, a cat in the wild. That would be a beautiful sight to see. Happy Holidays to you!

  4. 4

    A picturesque piece, Bumble. I even shivered a little.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

  5. 6

    Sandra said,

    Nice spooky little tale.

  6. 7

    simon7banks said,

    1649? Execution of King Charles I, I think. No, obviously nothing to do with that.

    Nice writing.

  7. 9

    rich said,

    i don’t know if this will end well or poorly for them – but i don’t care. either way, it was well done.

  8. 10

    Very different and refreshing response to the photo. I think you have an h missing from your title. Ron

  9. 11

    tedstrutz said,

    Something eerie this way comes… I want to know…

  10. 12

    wmqcolby said,

    Very nice and poetic. Has some grace to it. Thank-you!

  11. 13

    beebeesworld said,

    Thanks for all the comments on my prompt Silhouette. You made my day!

  12. 14

    Lovely! I felt I was there, too–or wished I were! :)
    xo

  13. 16

    Jacki said,

    Deadly accurate answer. You’ve hit the bullesye!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,047 other followers

