Personal Space

Personal space is different in various places around the world.  i have found that Americans and Eastern Europeans like a “personal Space” of nearly two feet, and will back up as if you are “in their face; if you get closer, even in a casual conversation, or upon an introduction to someone.  In Hispanic cultures and Western European cultures, people stand much closer when speaking and are offended when we “get out of my face Americans”  take a step back as they speak to us.

I have often wondered how “persona space becomes a habit among different cultures. Perhaps, we should look around and see what the locals are doing before we decided just where to stand!

This is response to a prompt on personal Space at the following link:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/daily-prompt-personal-space/

15 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kavita Joshi said,

    very nice read dear..thanks for sharing

  2. 2

    You should see what personal space is like in Asia. There’s not a lot of it and people intrude on it all the time which actually makes you pretty angry even if you know why

  3. 3

    Reblogged this on theblackandwhitedragonfly and commented:
    I treasure my Personal Space as much as I need it – as much as I like being alone, often. I am choosy about my friends and lovers…as well as I choose the texts I publish on my blogs. So I thank all my friends and the ones following me here, thank you, and feel free to comment ! Cheers,
    Antoine

  4. 4

    kansamuse said,

    It is interesting how personal space can be so different.

  5. 5

    Lucid Gypsy said,

    Is it the amount of space or the behaviour within that space that’s the problem?

  6. 6

    sachemspeaks said,

    I understand this space thing, coming from a close nit tribe into this world. We shake hands before and hug after a conversation, not out in this new world, now I ask first. :-(
    Too bad, hard to fight with someone that you just hugged?

  7. 7

    Sandra Bennett said,

    Never thought about that, however, I AM a participant in keeping my own space…It would just seem uncomfortable getting closer…unless with close friends or family.

  8. 8

    Have you watched the TV episode of Seinfeld about the close talker? It’s funny :)

  9. 9

    L. Palmer said,

    I know I have a smaller personal space range than other people, which my friends like to purposefully invade just from loving spite.

  10. 10

    I don’t agree we should be so intolerant and demanding ~ enjoy your write ups~ Blessings friend

  11. 11

    Ajaytao2010 said,

    I Nominate for you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award

    please accept it and oblige

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/super-sweet-blogging-award-3-nominations/

  12. 13

    The need for personal space or „etiquette“ differs within a country as well. We in Lower Saxony are looked upon as „cold“ or stoic. If you are foreign you have to overcome a space. But if you do, you can find real friends here or became friendly easy and it is often a true and lasting friendship. You can „drop the trousers“ and be what you are.
    More in the south of germany in Baden-Wuertemberg or Bavaria, it is easy to get in touch with people, to talk to them about god the weather or politics. But personal subjects like faults in character, depressions or wronging behavior is not so much spoken about. They like it all shiny and proper, themselves included. So there is not to much „space“ in the beginning but enough space will be left if you need one to – let me say – take a deeper look inside.
    I can say, that in daily life the wish to get closer or to stand „far“ depends (who had guessed?) on the person. Some of my workmates are my friends and sometimes we hug (men or women) other times not. I think, in my case, I like to share my feelings and thoughts, so that only a number of personalities are left, which I stand very close to.

    By the way: Isn’t it most fun to love somebody and to squeeze any space away?!

  13. 14

    bert0001 said,

    Perhaps I’m not living in the right place. I prefer indeed a serious space 2-3 feet around me without intrusion :-)
    Perhaps this happens because I have always lived in places with lots of space.

  14. 15

    simon7banks said,

    We British are Western Europeans of a sort and in my experience we like more personal space than many other cultures. Perhaps it’s about the same as Americans, though many Americans tend to be more “touchy-feely”: for example, an American business contact may be more likely to clap another man on the shoulder. Within Europe I think the difference is mainly north-south, with Scandinavians and Finns wanting copious personal space and Latins and Greeks coming in close.

    However, I once saw a psychologist explaining this to a group of doctor’s receptionists (in order to make the point that they should be prepared for different cultures). He got a middle-aged Englishwoman to stand up and then, to prove his point, rapidly advanced on her. She was supposed to step back. Instead she stood her ground and hugged him.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 845 other followers

