The Loss of Hope

 

I dream of you-your face,your smile, how I cherished it

how it made my soul feel alive, even in the worst of times

and then I realize you are gone-never NEVER do I have

the slightest hope of seeing you, touching you again.

 

I wonder how many times I can die-drowning in this pain?

 

And I dream of those still here, yet so far away

wonder if I have any more chance of touching them, loving them

than I do those who lie among the flowers on the hill…

 

Hope-sometimes it dies because life has stolen it

and you don’t know why or how to fix it, even though it could be- somehow

and sometimes it dies when hearts stops beating.

There is no breath, no life, what was is frozen in time,

all that is left is night, darkness, dreams…

 

I wonder, here, alone in the cold and darkness…

which is worse, the death of hope or the death of life

or is there really any difference?

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    free penny press said,

    So sad…When we lose through death a treasured soul we must not allow the grief to kill that hope..for the ones left behind can love and give hope also if only the grief stricken one allows..
    peace to you BeeBee

  2. 2

    Judy said,

    This is so sad. It must be unbearable to live with this level of anguish. Remember, what is left is love and memories. Hold those tightly. I am sorry for your pain, Beebee.

  3. 3

    HUGS from me to YOU!

  4. 4

    Robyn Lee said,

    so sorry beebee ~ the worst is the “death of hope” I believe… x rl

  5. 5

    russtowne said,

    I’m glad that writing gives an outlet to you for your pain, beebee. I believe you help others who have experienced great loss, and am happy that you are in their lives and mine, my friend.
    Russ

  6. 6

    Loss is so hard to deal with… it’s good you can channel it into poetry x

  7. 7

    russtowne said,

    Hi, beebee. I created a post for you at my site. I hope it helps you to get through the tough times, my friend.

    http://russtowne.com/2013/05/19/to-a-friend-who-is-going-through-tough-times/

    Russ

  8. 8

    cherylmoore said,

    I know these emotions come from a personal place and that translates in your poetry. I feel intrusive reading, but at the same time admire the way you communicate your loss in such a poignant way that the reader in some way shares with you. You are a truly gifted artist, beebee. Best wishes, from Cheryl.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,100 other followers

