Time Travel

Copyright - Danny Bowman

“I must be dreaming!” I said to myself as I walked around the corner of the old brick building and saw the aging phone booth.

“I haven’t seen one of those in years!” Cell phones had pretty much sent phone booths the way of the dinosaur.

Even though I never had the cause to use them much, they did hold a sweet ring of nostalgia.

I walked up to the phone booth, running my finger over the fading red paint on the surrounding box. I smiled as I saw the push button dial, even with the buttons, it seemed quaint.

“What? 50 cents?” I sighed. I looked up to see the modern building and knew I was in the present time after all.

17 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I remember the first time I saw one at 50 cents, rather than a quarter, and I was shocked, darling. Simply shocked. Nice nostalgic piece.

  2. 3

    Loved the surprise ending. Fifty cents, indeed! :)

  3. 4

    Jean Alaba said,

    I can’t remember the las time I’ve seen an old phone booth. Nostalgia.

  4. 5

    Dear Beebee,
    Not only do I remember phone booths, but I remember rotary dials and 10 cent calls. Nice story.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  5. 6

    Kwadwo said,

    A walk through memory lane. Every now and then, you’ll come across an obsolete machine like a gramophone, a record player or VCR and they bring back memories and nostaligia.

    Please take part in a poll I’m taking about WordPress’ advertisements on our blogs. Click on the link below to view the page.

    http://logo-ligi.com/2013/05/22/ad-free-or-not-ad-free/

  6. 7

    Sandra Bennett said,

    In the 1960’s when I was a temporary switchboard operator at the telephone company, I recall that we listened to the sound as each coin
    was dropped into the slot, in order to know whether the customer had put in the correct amount for their long diatance call… Quarter, dime, and nickel made individual sounds…Thanks for stirring my memory !

  7. 8

    I remember party lines! My dad always liked to check the change box on all the pay phones and it was amazing how often he found money in them.

    janet

  8. 9

    Penny L Howe said,

    This does appear to be a prompt to recall yesterdays. I enjoyed your story. Well done! :)

  9. 10

    Sheryl said,

    Both the post and the comments brought back wonderful memories–pay phones, rotary dials, party lines. . .

  10. 11

    Memories? What do you all mean memories. There’s a few in the small town close by where I live and I’ve had more than one occasion to use it when there’s no signal for phoning from a cell phone.

  11. 12

    Nicely written evocation of simpler times.

  12. 13

    I remember when they were a dime!

  13. 14

    Linda Vernon said,

    Those old phones are pretty rare alright, I don’t blame your heroine for thinking she went back in time.

  14. 15

    yerpirate said,

    Makes one think of how societies change…

  15. 16

    goethalsart said,

    Nice evocation of “the good old times”.In Belgium, it’s hard to find a cell phone.Sometimes I think that life was easier when Apple and Blackberry were just fruits.

  16. 17

    absolutely amazing; haven’t seen one of those in very long time!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,048 other followers

