Dream Chaser

I think about death a lot.

About my son, my mom, my neighbor.

I think about how easy it would be

to not deal with all this crap any more.

As I sit , trying to catch up on emails,

my heart starts to pound, I feel sick, shaking.

I wonder if the death angel has come for me.

It scares me more than I thought it would.

It lasted a long time, sweating, panting.

I miss my son and mom and others.

I wonder where I’d be if I hadn’t stayed here.

I wonder why I had to stay here when my son left.

And I see the dream chaser I made

For my grand kids today and think, “Maybe I know.”

6 Responses so far »

  1. 2

    Sandra Bennett said,

    Yes, you are a most valuable asset to their lives.

  2. 3

    Raf said,

    Memento mori, fella.

  3. 5

    SwittersB said,

    Yes, stay the course….your wisdom and heart will help others in their grieving needs.

  4. 6

    SusanB said,

    You can’t leave, just give up, they didn’t.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,047 other followers

