I Close my Eyes

IMG_0051

The flight of life, all I am or hope to be. I close my eyes.

I am a child, turning as I look for signs of growing up,

then a teen, swirling in front of a mirror,

dreaming of college, midnights out, no curfew.

Suddenly, I awake to the sound of wedding music

and then a baby cries as I shake my head.

The laundry awaits, my feet hurt.

Life, where is it going, it used to seems so slow.

Now I’m bandaging skinned knees, paying mortgages.

I see my teen swirling in front of a mirror.

I find myself looking at the obituaries in the paper.

I notice a little gray in my husbands hair.

Graduations, weddings, then accidents, surgeries,

my back hurts when I garden all day, the house needs repair.

I cry at the tombstones of my parents,

suddenly becoming aware of my own age,

Life, speeding by at the speed of light.

Computers have replaced the written word.

I feel outdated, like I don’t belong here anymore.

Struggling to keep up, I feel the desperation of loosing my edge.

Yesterday, I was young, had hope, dreams, health.

I remember whirling in the wind beneath the moon,

Oceans waves crashing behind me, the bright lights of town

glowing distantly, calling to me, “Come, live, love!”

Now it is nighttime, winter, cold and bare.

The dreams have been fulfilled or died long ago.

I try to imagine where it all went, how it got away,

A tear rolls down a weathered cheek. I close my eyes once more.

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jorge Luis Oyola said,

    Day to Day that is how it got away…

  2. 2

    russtowne said,

    The moon still beckons and the waves still dance, my friend. They care not as to whether you are a child, a teen, a young woman, or an experienced wiser one. Don’t close your eyes for a last time wishing you had visited them again.

  3. 3

    Ajaytao2010 said,

    I Nominate you for Bouquet of Super Awards – 27 Nominations

    please choose any 3 awards out of the 27
    accept it and oblige

    there are no linkbacks for this award

    http://ajaytao2010.wordpress.com/2013/06/24/bouquet-of-super-awards-27-nominations/

  4. 4

    Brenda this is my favorite piece from you, it is so hauntingly beautiful and shares your heart. Thank you for these beautiful poignant words. Just beautiful dear one just beautiful.

  5. 5

    ‘Struggling to keep up, I feel the desperation of loosing my edge’a haunting, melancholy lament, so perfectly written.

    ty for this, it resonates deeply in this heart as well..

  6. 7

    Enigma said,

    You are out of a time that never will come back, thats why you erase all isue that remember your past, but it only smash and stole that part of your life…

    • 8

      beebeesworld said,

      I’m not sure I understand what you are saying/ To clarify what I am saying-life goes by so quickly and the chance to do things often escapes us before we realize it.

  7. 9

    Poignant and beautiful


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,025 other followers

