Admission of my Quirky Habits

aea34-img_6776I am sure that other people see me with many quirky habits. I imagine the one that people emjoy the most is my love of studying reptiles, amphibians and insects. From the time I was a child, I have had baby turtle in a box, tadpoles in a bowl and container and have loved studying insects.

I had purchased and enjoyed a 35 mm camera along with diopters, filers and lenses and had learned to take beautiful photographs on thee film. Now, in this digital age, I have re-taken very few I on film. The photos never have the quality and clarity when they are retaken. I bought a complicated new digital camera, but just could not conquer it, so I traded it in for a more simple on.

I have taken quite a few on the camera, but haven’t managed to get a lot of them on the computer. I hope to get out my old albums and make the beautiful pictures of fritillary butterflies and monarchs on butterfly weed. I remember the excitement of capturing pictures of snakes, or lizards. My neighbors were always happy to check out my latest photos of the life cycle of the praying mantis.

It is odd how hobbies and quirks come and go in our lives. Sometimes, when we find time and life moving them out of our reach we loose the time or energy to pursue it as we once did.

Still, I treasure the memories of the days when I showed my children a “new” insect or a new life faze of a butterfly and their amazement as they held a newly hatched black swallowtail on their fingertip.

Quirks aren’t always bad, just different, and isn’t being different what makes life interesting?

10 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Thank heavens for differences and quirks! Bless your heart for this adorable post. I too celebrate some of the creatures many might avoid or squirm about. I see it as diversity, and all of nature is glorious. Thank you for this delightful post, and for delightful You!
    Hugs, Gina

  2. 2

    sachemspeaks said,

    Beebee
    I see nothing quirky about that? I do the same. :-)

  3. 3

    Sandra Bennett said,

    Interesting hobby you’ve had all these years, and I don’t find it quirky at all….I believe you were aptley called Bug Lady for awhile. :-)

  4. 4

    SwittersB said,

    I am glad that old spark for photography of pretty winged insects is still there. A nice thing to consider through the cold Winter.

  5. 6

    It sure is, beebee. Life at its best is interesting and there is so much to amaze us. Have a blessed week! Bette

  6. 9

    Doesn’t ‘bug’ me at all! This is clearly a quirk we share!

  7. 10

    You do have an awful lot of quirky friends one of which I hope will always be me :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,067 other followers

