As Fragile as Glass

Three years ago, I lost my mom.

She had been fading for years, but we still talked,

we laughed and loved.

It seems like since then loss and loneliness

have been so much of my life.

I feel like I am drowning.

After loosing my child, hope, faith,

and that special closeness with my family,

I feel I will never capture the joy in life again.

I can only beg you, young people,

to take that joy, when you find it,

and treat it as thought it was glass, because it is.

13 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Very touching, and bittersweet. And such wisdom for us all. May we remember to cherish joy when and where we find it.
    And may your heart find peace.
    ~Gina

  2. 2

    Judy said,

    Oh, Brenda – your words touch me. You know I often speak of hope to find joy again. Well, those words are to myself because it is a struggle when life has dealt so much sadness. I just know it’s possible, even though elusive. Sometimes, all we have is the memory of those carefree moments. I hold on to those, too. You brought tear to my eyes. I miss my mom so much. Your mom was also your comfort and friend and I relate to that.

    • 3

      beebeesworld said,

      Judy, you always seek of hope-I dont even look for it any more. I take the good, hate and feel anger over the bad and the wrong and take another breath, wondering why. beebee

  3. 4

    Your losses always touch my heart when you write about them Brenda. We all have those in our lives and because of them we share a powerful experience and connection that helps us go on. May your tender and powerful words to the young help them to embrace joy even more, and as always, I send my wish and prayer that it begin to shed its light on your heart as well. { }

  4. 8

    Sandra Bennett said,

    The older we get the more fragile life becomes…Dreams are either followed or they slip away. Many times it is beyond our control. What is left are the the joyful moments we recall, and most of all, the Love…

    • 9

      beebeesworld said,

      I miss mom, my uncles Harold and Jack, aunt Helen and my precious son Andrew. I will always feel that he was cheated out of his life. At least my mom and aunts and uncles got to live theirs. I feel my heart dying every day. My kids love me, I dont spend much time with them, even though we live nearby. Just Elisha and I feel i have to beg for that-I never expected life to be such a disappointment, I believed what I thought God told me and It did not come true, with my son, health, even the ability to do what I promised, it seems so stupid to have someone live on a promise and a dram for decades and then snatch it. Where is the husband I used to cry because I missed-now I cry because he is so cold.

  5. 10

    Kev said,

    I believe there are times when we all feel as glass.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,047 other followers

