Days and Nights Alone

 

DSCN1974

Across the room, a picture of the two of you,

Its seems like yesterday, but its been 8 years,

in the purest hell. You- taken only four months later.

Your little brother now 6’3” and growing-

the girl who has his heart isn’t me.

I am alone in my heart-I’ve taken in my sick dad-

and the daily reminders of why I left home at 18

haunting my every quiet move, with doors down,

curtains up to accommodate walkers-hospital supplies.

Every time I think “life” can get no worse, it does.

I need you, I need your brother to be little again.

I want to teach 6 kids about bugs and butterflies

and play in the creek. I want to live, love, dream.

Tonight, if and when I close my eyes, please,

my beautiful young man, stolen for no reason,

come to me, be with me, let me remember life.

 

11 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Judy said,

    Your words are so haunting and your heartache has caused me to cry. Oh, bee bee – I pray things get better for you. I’m so sorry.

  2. 2

    SwittersB said,

    Such grief. Does it help even a little bit, for a little while, to write about it? I find photos like that to be so bittersweet. Always share Brenda if it gives even momentary peace that others care.

  3. 3

    Rajiv said,

    This is very haunting. Words spoken, emotions felt, but unspoken

  4. 4

    My heart saddens for you. Sending you healing hugs.

  5. 5

    Sandra Bennett said,

    He is with you, Brenda….He knows what you go through….Sometimes it seems that life works in reverse as we get older; to that I can attest… You are not alone. I’ll have many questions in the afterlife, but I am not angry. Love is what connects us all.

  6. 7

    I pray that you heal Brenda. Your haunting words moved me so :-)

  7. 8

    SusanB said,

    Your sadness apparent, your broken heart in pieces. You left home at 18. Your home is yours, you need peace so you can heal Bee Bee. The loss of your child so massive, so consuming, tips the scales on sadness. Don’t allow more of it in your life.

  8. 9

    beebeesworld said,

    Unfortunately, grief and loss isnot something you “allow” in your life. It just happens. Some incidences are easier to move forward from than others. Thanks for reading. beebeesworld


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,108 other followers

