A Day in the “Life”

 

The morning holds little promise

dreary, gray, a bit depressing.

Staying in bed later than I should,

hoping the phone doesn’t ring-

it does,

A call that made me cry sweet tears,

A call filled with words I didn’t like,

finally, one of those calls we all dread.

 

A dreary dark, difficult day,

spent in an emergency room

filled with veterans from many wars.

I wonder what their stories encompass,

If I even deserve to share this time with them,

waiting, waiting, waiting,

for their name to be called,

so they could wait again in a different line.

 

I am humbled by their patience, the calm

of a room filled with people who didn’t wait

when they were asked to serve.

Another day, another lesson in what it means to serve.

 

 

15 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    billgncs said,

    sometimes the cost of honor is steep indeed

  2. 3

    bigsmileu1 said,

    I am honored to nominate you for the One Lovely Blog Award! Please pick-up your award at http://www.grandmothermusings.com . Copy and Paste the Award to your blog and follow the rules of acceptance. I wish you many blessings. Congratulations!! 🙂

  3. 4

    Robyn Lee said,

    Very moving words Beeb… you are talented writer… this line really had impact:
    “I am humbled by their patience, the calm
    of a room filled with people who didn’t wait
    when they were asked to serve.”

    • 5

      beebeesworld said,

      Thanks, I used to work at VA-now I accompany my dad there-a WWII vet. He comments that there arent many of them left-I see Korean, Viet Nam, Iraq/Afghanistan era vets,,,men, women, all races there. Bebee is my grandma name, but one of them calls me Beebs!

      • 6

        Robyn Lee said,

        I wondered how you were exposed to this. Thanks for the insight. Wonderful that you can connect with the vets there… 🙂

      • 7

        beebeesworld said,

        Thank you, Robyn. My dad wrote a book on his experiences in Guam in WWII-it was lighthearted-they were there during the rebuilding late 45-46, but his father passed away while he was there. My uncle had a completely different experience. After hearing my dads stories for years, I wondered why my uncle wouldn’t talk about his WWII days. One day, he sat me down and told me and then, I knew ….

  4. 8

    bigsmileu1 said,

    Deeply moving poem to remind us all of the enormous sacrifice those who serve continue to give. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  5. 9

    adinparadise said,

    A very moving poem indeed.

  6. 10

    Beautiful piece of thought. keep up the good work!
    I am honoured to nominate you for The One Lovely Blog award!Please pick up your award at my bloghttp://elephantprincessdotme.wordpress.com. Copy and paste it your blog and follow the rules of acceptance. Good luck with the creativity

  7. 12

    beautiful words. please tell you father that I appreciate his service to our country ♥ my father is a veteran, also. ~paula

  8. 15

    Brigite said,

    nice information, many thanks to the author.http://www.imagnnet.com


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

