The Watcher

Every morning, she is perched at the top on a “snag” (dead tree) above my house. Her job is to look out for possible food sources for her family. I smile when I see her sitting there, stoic and silent, as I put out bits of bread or food meant especially for her.Ā  The minute walk out the door, she begins to spread the work, “food-food” in her language. “Caw,caw,caw caw.’ If I don’t see her, I call out for her in the same “language, “Caw, caw,caw, caw. Soon she and her family arrive.Ā  We had a symbiosis between us, a bond. We are a part of each others’ world.

19 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    billgncs said,

    true.. I agree, you have become part of the flock!

  2. 2

    rochellewisoff said,

    Nice and upbeat. I like this watcher.

  3. 3

    boomiebol said,

    I like very much :).

  4. 4

    Kwadwo said,

    I love it. Mary had a little lamb…
    Except this time, it’s a crow (hope I got that right)

    http://logo-ligi.com/2012/07/12/soliloquy-of-a-disgruntled-raven/

  5. 5

    Robyn Lee said,

    Wonderful ~ this crow has become part of your daily ritual. Lovely šŸ™‚

  6. 6

    flyoverhere said,

    The opportunity to interact with nature is both fascinating and inspiring. I liked this a lot!

  7. 7

    Sandra Bennett said,

    You have such an appreciation of nature, and are a friend to all creatures. Bless you.

  8. 11

    Thank you for sharing a good-feely, positive story for a change. I bet they prefer your food to the road kill they pick up now and then. I’m #14 on the list.

  9. 14

    Sounds like a true story, love the bird talk.
    http://wp.me/s1nUrn-buzzard

  10. 15

    This is one of the rare stories that doesn’t deal with death this week. Most refreshing!

  11. 16

    I like the relationship your character has with the bird. Love the idea of symbiosis in all things (that’s the title of my novel šŸ™‚

  12. 17

    dmmacilroy said,

    A sweet story about how we are all one in this world. I liked that she fed the bird without question and even spoke to it in its own language.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/roadkill/

  13. 19

    Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

