More Grapes of Wrath

She remembered the fragrance of grapes on her grandma’s heavy vines. Her tears moistened the winter soil around her young vine as she remembered the one lost to a driveway for a new house. In February, she trimmed back the vines as her uncle had taught her long ago. She watched as the early spring filled the vine with tiny potential grapes. Her grandson delighted in the soft new clusters. There was only one thing she forgot-it wasn’t yet May, even though the spring had been hot and early.  One night, a late frost fell unexpectedly. She arose to, a withered vine, one cluster of tiny grapes remained. Ironic, that it had been one of her favorite books-The Grapes of Wrath.

19 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    boomiebol said,

    Awww very nice yet has a sad undertone. Mine is on my blog, thank you

    • 2

      beebeesworld said,

      I try to keep up with your blog-it is always worth reading! I see they didnt correct my spelling of “wrath” when I fixed it not 3 minutes after writing it-oh well…

  2. 3

    bigsmileu1 said,

    Your piece is sad and sweet. It is like she is losing her grandparents all over again. 🙂

  3. 6

    Hi, Bee Bee. I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award: http://thebumblefiles.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/im-a-lovely-blogger/ Best wishes!!

    • 7

      beebeesworld said,

      Thank you! I am having trouble getting my awards to show up on my blog-seem I do everything right, but the pic doesnt show up-how exactly do YOU do it-I must be missing some small detail-it doesnt seem that difficult, but then, everything seems to be that way for me!

      • 8

        Hi! You’re welcome! Do you mean on your post or on your sidebar? On the sidebar I know it’s a matter of activating a widget and using the URL for the image. Just right click on the image (in the post) and when you add the widget there should be a place to insert the URL for the image. When you do this, it should automatically show up on your blog. Does this help?

      • 9

        beebeesworld said,

        thats what I do, but it just doesnt seem to show the pic of the award on my home page-on the sidebar-now it actually says the words for one of the awards, but doesnt show the pic…seems like nothing is “automatic for me except trouble…thanks….

  4. 10

    Robyn Lee said,

    Lovely beebee!

  5. 11

    Sandra Bennett said,

    Bittersweet…but nicely written !

  6. 12

    Adam Ickes said,

    Darn late frosts ruin everything. That why I don’t garden, or I guess it could be because the weeds take over and I stop caring, but I’ll blame the frost anyway. Beautifully written story.

  7. 13

    Kwadwo said,

    Lots of memories in the grapevine. Sad, though.

  8. 14

    Linda said,

    That is exactly what has happened to the vine we have in our greenhouse. The hot weather here in the UK in early spring fooled it into budding early and the heavy rain we’ve had since has meant it’s now failed and withered. Nicely done.
    http://womanontheedgeofreality.com/2012/07/20/friday-fictioneers-the-grapevine/

  9. 15

    Sandra said,

    There’s an old English saying (which you may know) “ne’er cast a clout till May is out”. A nice portrayal of reminiscences contrasts with the harsh reality of the weather.

    http://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/2012/07/19/triple-exposure-friday-fictioneers-july-2012/

  10. 16

    Kaitlin said,

    oh no! My father still mourns a peach tree he lost to an early frost one year 😦
    http://kaitlinandmichaelbranch.com/2012/07/20/friday-fictioneers-13/

  11. 19

    Bittersweet story. Bloody early frost. Ruined my dad’s strawberry patch one year. Nice work. I’m #68 on the list.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

