A Little Lesson on Life

“Mom, you’ve got to see this mushroom! It’s huge!” my teenaged son called as he ran in the morning sun.  

“Wow!” I exclaimed, “That is the largest one yet!”
“A Parasol mushroom,” he panted, “Like the others we’ve seen here.”
“I’ll take a picture of your hand beside it to show it‘s size.” I told him.
 
Later, we walked with a friend, moonlight glinting from his hair. “Show her the mushroom,” I smiled.

 “Mom, it’s not there,” he whispered.

“What?”  I exclaimed.
 
“Dad saw it and crushed it-stepped on it, before I could stop him.”

I paused.

“Look, baby, you can see the features on the surface of the moon!”

22 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Glad they got the picture!

  2. 2

    Gilly Gee said,

    Well done, you’ve done a really good job with the picture,its a tough one.

  3. 3

    Robyn Lee said,

    Loved this so much beebee. I did not see the prompt – but really stands on its own 🙂 RL

  4. 5

    Boomie Bol said,

    Well done. I am sitting this one out

  5. 6

    dmmacilroy said,

    Dear Beebee,

    A wise mother, immediately showing her son he is part of a beauty that the father cannot touch. This story of yours heals deep wounds. (An attribute rarely found in much longer works, no less a 100 words. Very well done.)

    Aloha,

    Doug

    http://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com/2012/08/02/mcmurdo-countdown-objects-in-mirror/

    • 7

      beebeesworld said,

      Thank you, Doug. The story is true, as many of mine are. Writing is a therapy from unspeakable loss and unimaginable pain. I see you have experienced much in your life. I teach my kids to embrace life, whatever it throws at us. You do not have to be what you don’t feel. Our souls are free. Your thoughts meant a lot to me. beebee

  6. 8

    Nice piece of motherly distraction. Been there and done that, to not coin a phrase. 🙂

  7. 10

    Dad sounds like a nasty piece of work. Some people just have to destroy things. Beautifully written.

  8. 11

    How can Dad be so insensitive? Very well written

  9. 13

    elmowrites said,

    This is a lovely image of a mother / son relationship. There are a few typos which distracted me, like it’s for its, but the moral is a key one.
    I’m over at: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/friday-fiction-torment/

  10. 14

    billgncs said,

    so sad…. the world can be hard… I really felt this

  11. 17

    rochellewisoff said,

    A wise mother not to put the father down in the son’s eyes. Sweet story.
    http://www.rochelle-wisoff.blogspot.com/2012/08/wild-life.html

    • 18

      beebeesworld said,

      Wish i was always that “wise”, since some bad things have happened in my life, I am not as good at keeping things to myself as I once was. I try-most of the time. Thanks for reading.

      • 19

        I’ve clicked on follow at the top of your page. I thought blogspot had a similar way t follow. I’m not sure if you have to go into my profile to make it happen or what. Will be honored to have another “retro-hippie” in my corner.

  12. 20

    vbholmes said,

    Good example of the contrast between the enthusiastic curiosity of youth and the careless indifference of middle age.

  13. 21

    Dakshi said,

    Lovely.. Mothers are the best.
    🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

