Resilience or Persistence?

Image

Day 4 after I cut down the morning Glories and piled the, by the road.

Image

Day 6 after I cut down the Morning Glories and plied them by the road

The definition of resilience is the ability to recover or adjust easily. This is the first word that came to mind when I saw morning glories blooming hopefully in purples and magentas on vines I had pulled from my sons bank a week ago. I admit, I felt a bit guilty  about having to pull them, they were pretty, but they were winding around the other flowers and turning the yard into a jungle. I did leave the ones that weren’t in the way.

The days have been cool here in the mountains and the infamous August dew and fog had given the vines moisture even as they were piled on the ground, with their stems no longer rooted. I have watched the flower vines everyday as I waited on my son’s bus.  They were piled by the curb, several feet high, and blooming desperately as if determined to make next years seeds in spite of my interference.

When I looked up the definition of resilience, I felt it was more applicable to some of the people I have known who have so valiantly fought disease or disability, than to the flowers, because they could not recover or adjust in any long-term way. They were simply doing what nature programmed them to do-reproduce, so that next year, there would again, be banks overgrown with tangled vines of beautiful wild flowers.

I then thought of the word, perseverance, and in my dictionary , it was simply defined as “to persist”. Somehow, that word seemed more applicable to the struggle of the flowers to make seeds before the sun and lack of moisture did them in. As a person who both loves and respects nature and its ways. I felt rather small in my tendency to let life’s, struggles defeat me when a wildflower, plucked from the ground could continue to nourish its blooms in spite of all odds.

I believe that the memory of the perseverance of the morning glories will stick with me the next time one of life’s little obstacles gets in my way.

14 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    billgncs said,

    perhaps “weed” can mean “successful but unpopular”

    I very much enjoyed this post

  2. 4

    Sandra Bennett said,

    Not only by persistence or resilience do they thrive, but also, they live on through your words and lovely pictures, and also because you cared to notice them…Thanks for sharing their story with us.

  3. 6

    I like morning glories. I do not understand why we try to do away with them. But my wife does, and that is all that matters.
    What kind of bank accepts morning glories?🙂😉

    • 7

      beebeesworld said,

      I like morning glories, wild and “cultivated”, as well as honeysuckle, the beautiful pink wild multiflora roses that grow on my bank and at my son’s house.The prolific wild lazy susans look so beautiful in late summer and they seed themselves, as do the blue bachelors buttons The tiny white asters and their larger purple cousins grow on rather ugly plants that don’t flower until September, but the attracts honeybees in abundance, as they are ofter the only flower still blooming. I often dig up wild plants that grow in disturbed areas and replant then in one of my “wild gardens” before the mower comes and obliterates them. Every plant has a place. I really enjoy trying to allow them to grow as they will, but without a little care, some species will overtake another. What I HATE is chain grass-it will kill out just about anything!

  4. 10

    I love morning glories they are so beautiful and find they do well on fence here. as do sweet peas and when intertwined they compete and look so beautiful together. I too am a ditch hunter meaning I see a misplaced flower i stop and dig it up . Before the drought I wss gathering that way for new gardens at this house. My old house I had 5 acres and a multitude of wild flower beds. Many gathered in the ditches, woods and along ponds and streams.
    Beautiful tribute to a majestic flower.

  5. 11

    I have nominated you for the Super Sweet Blogging Award. Go to my Home Page to view the details on how to receive it.

  6. 13

    russtowne said,

    “I felt rather small in my tendency to let life’s, struggles defeat me”

    I beg to differ, beebee. Life’s struggles and challenges are no small thing, and in your life you no doubt have had to deal with hundreds of thousands of challenges and struggles. Yet you survive. Sometimes it is heroic just to get up in the morning. You have overcome many, many of life’s struggles to get where you are today.

    Don’t sell yourself short, my friend.

    Russ

    • 14

      beebeesworld said,

      Wow, Russ, you made my day. I have spend two of the last three days in the Emergency Room with my daughter. Her symptoms persist but they can find nothing wrong. It is hard enough to see her distress after 5 doctor and ER visits, but to sit in the ER in sight of the room where I had to go view my dead teenage son was about more than I could bear. And I couldn;’t say it or show it for fear of increasing my daughters anxiety… Maybe I am stronger than I know.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

