Anniversary Memories-1917

We were thinking of the fact that today was my grandparents wedding anniversary. They were married on Friday, April13, 1917. That would be 96 years today. They were actually married 72 years when my grandpa passed away in 1989-thats quite a run!

 My grandma, a southern lady full of charm and grace would always amuse me with her comments. She would laugh and say, “We were married on Friday, the 13th, and we certainly have not had bad luck in our marriage.” Neither of our parents wanted us to get married. We were young-19 and 20 and times were hard. My future father-in-law took me on a walk to show me all the possessions that my husband to be owned-it was a hound dog and some pups! We got married anyway. My parents refused to come to the dinner that my husbands parents gave for us. My brother laughed, put on his jacket and let the screen door slam behind him. My mother told me that he said, “Shoot, I ain’t missin’ a good meal because you all are pouting.”

I have never know a finer woman-or a more tolerant one. Life was never easy for her, but she, like all ‘Georgia Peaches” knew how to “bite her lip” when she was thinking unseemly thoughts. “Bless her heart!”

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    billgncs said,

    think back to what the world was like then.

  2. 4

    abichica said,

    wow. they really were married long, and their struggles just made them stronger.🙂

  3. 5

    an example we should follow. Bless your heart!

  4. 6

    I was born in the south and remember that you could say anything about anyone if you just followed with “bless their hear” lol

  5. 7

    Lucid Gypsy said,

    What a great couple, I can imagine what changes they lived through!

  6. 8

    ispiderbook said,

    Happy anniversary.

  7. 9

    Sandra Bennett said,

    A fine example of success and happiness through determination,
    cooperation, and of course, L-o-v-e….

  8. 10

    I knew my grandparents thought Aunt Irene was too young to get married but never heard about the wedding dinner they skipped. The ‘not skip a good dinner’ comment sounds like Uncle Orin.

    My favorite memory of Aunt Irene and Uncle Andy is of them sitting together on the sofa in the living room, holding hands and looking out at the mountains. So much in love after all those decades.

  9. 12

    Kev said,

    Wow, all that time? now that’s something!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

