Estate Sale

Copyright-Ted Strutz

Today, an estate sale sign sat in the yard of my childhood friend. Thirty years ago, we all loved to go to Katie’s house. Wonderful memories filled my heart.

I stopped and walked in the door to the sale. It was as if I had gone back in time. Picking a few things that I remembered, I paid for them and returned to my car.

My hands were shaking. How quickly life goes by. Those treasures now sit on my mantle. What will happen to them if, one day, an estate sale sign sits in front of my house?

20 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    boomiebol said,

    Very real!!! Nicely done

  2. 2

    vb holmes said,

    One day, those objects will become someone else’s memories as they are yours today. Nice, Beebee.

  3. 3

    Poignantly written

  4. 4

    bitter sweet tale that makes all of us go back in time to a place…

  5. 5

    Sandra Bennett said,

    Treasures….

  6. 6

    Lucid Gypsy said,

    I often wonder about the ‘treasures’ I’ve gathered. Nicely done Beebee.

  7. 7

    russtowne said,

    Excellent post, beebee I suspect if such a sign were in front of your home, many people would lovingly do what you did.

    Russ

  8. 8

    Lily Mugford said,

    Oh this is good, really liked your story. I am at the point of clearing away the treasures (clutter) before there has to be a sale and my memories are sold for a quarter.

  9. 9

    pirate said,

    Yep…..a thought, sudden…and real

  10. 10

    One man’s junk is another man’s treasure.

  11. 11

    petrujviljoen said,

    There are a few collectables in that bar.

  12. 12

    erinleary said,

    I can relate to that feeling well. The value is only in the eye of the beholder. i’m glad a few treasures found a new home.

  13. 13

    Dear Beebee,
    A couple of years ago a dear friend of mine passed away. An eclectic lady who loved to collect the most unusual pieces. I now own a few of those cherished pieces. I said that to say that your piece touched me deeply.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  14. 14

    It’s really sad when faced with that sort of change. But it comes to us a few times in a lifetime. Unfortunately. Nicely written.

  15. 15

    I have been cleaning to help lesson that worry 😦 I wish I could be a child again with not a care in the world 🙂

  16. 16

    Very touching and real.. one always hope that the objects (and their story) lives on.

  17. 17

    Great reflection. We should all wonder.

  18. 18

    Thought provoking post… THANKS!

    • 19

      simon7banks said,

      I feel the same way about auctions sometimes. It’s less personal, but the auction house near where I live has a habit of sometimes jumbling together disparate items in one lot. These are clearly things one person has collected over the years, things that said a lot about that person, and now he or she is dead or in an old people’s home. The items cease to be personal and though they’ll be bought by one person, it may be a dealer who’ll sell them separately or maybe the lot will be bought by a person who loves just one item and will throw most of the rest away. Often they sell presentation items, often silver or silver-plated vases or flagons, with inscriptions that can be very personal. I’m reluctant to buy these.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

