Spring Garden Hopes

With each spring, thoughts of my garden flood my mind. Unfortunately, the picture in my mind is soon destroyed by weeds, negligence, hungry animals and such. Today, as I tried to work the soft wet soil, I saw that the grasses and weeds are already winning the fight. What they haven’t attacked, the wild turkeys and such have begun to take their toll.

I used to have a garden by my uncle’s house, he had a generator running from a creek, which he shared. Not only that, he often plowed for me when my children kept me too busy to even try. Now he is gone. My garden is on a level spot in my son’s yard, not near a creek or uncle. What I get out of my garden is laughable, still, it is part of me to TRY.

Perhaps I should freeze the picture of young plants struggling to take hold and remember that life is much like that. It never turns out the way we wish it would.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Gotta get our hands into that rich earth!

  2. 2

    Dee Rayson said,

    A lovely crisp piece. I had the picture of you in your garden straight away. I also thought it related well to everyday life, where it’s hard to keep up.

  3. 3

    Lucid Gypsy said,

    Gardens are hard work and sometimes even the best attention doesn’t pay off, but as nutsfortreasure says it’s the getting down in the earth that makes you feel good!

  4. 4

    sachemspeaks said,

    Your Garden is a Warzone

    Your Garden is like your country.

    As with any other war, if you want to keep your garden from the enemy you must go to war! As with any war it is won before any battle even starts.

    I started my garden some time ago.

    http://sachemspeaks.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/spring-sprang-sprung/

    I am getting ready to blog another posting soon because the garden is starting to take off however, gardening can be easy and fun if done right.
    I how that it will help you?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

