What You Could Be

What You Could Be

I look at him, same age as you,

when death snatched you out of the blue.

He’s just 15, but teachers say,

that he will make it big one day.

I touch your photo, hold it too,

each time I pass, your place, your room.

It looks just like it did that day

when Hell took you and life away.

I see him grow, a brilliant smile,

when he creates, he dreams, compiles.

The things I wish that you could see.

I wonder, Babe, what you could be?

It’s just so wrong that you aren’t here.

I see your face, your eyes, your fear.

Still, no one knows, but you and me,

The truth about what you could be.

I pray the day will not be long,

When something might take up the wrong.

And somehow just, please let me see.

The beauty of what you could be.

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    So poignantly sad. Wish it were different. So sorry.

  2. 2

    Sandra Bennett said,

    You shall see him again, of this I am sure…He already knows how proud you are of him.

  3. 3

    Judy said,

    Your words are honest and heartfelt, but I wish there was one adjustment. When you wrote: “Hell took you and life away.” Your son is not in Hell – but you are. I wish you could dispel the anger and fury in your heart with all that love you have for him. One day. . .

  4. 4

    Lucid Gypsy said,

    A beautiful but very sad tribute.

  5. 5

    What a beautiful poem. You are in my heartfelt thoughts and prayers. ♥

  6. 7

    Kev said,

    Touching. :)

Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,226 other followers

