Aunt Bettie’s Love Making Poem

6-23-15
This hand-written poem was found in my great aunt Bettie Rayburn Bryant’s scrap book. She was a WAC (this is what women who served in the military were called)- serving with the Air Force. She was a Staff Sergeant while serving in Germany in the Post World War II occupation and married her husband , Technical Sergeant Howard Bryant, while at Erding Air Depot near Munich, Germany. The both retired in the early 1960’s after more than 20 years in the service. I do not know if she wrote it or someone else did and she though it was funny. I will let you guess what the subject of the poem is!!

(Oh, ok, it is her favorite poem about Love Making)

From twenty to thirty, if a man lives right
It’s once in the morning and once a night.
From thirty to forty, if he still lives right,
He cuts out the mormng- or else the night).
From fourty to fifty, its now and then
From fifty to sixty, its God knows when.
From sixty to seventy, if he’s inclined,
Don’t let him kid you, its all in his mind.

With women, its different, it’s morning and night.
Regardless of whether they live wrong or right.
Age cuts no figure, they’re always inclined.
Nothing to get ready, not even their mind!
So after it all is said and done,
A man, at sixty, has had his fun.
While a woman at sixty (and figures don’t lie)
They can take the old root, till her time comes to die!

9 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sandra Bennett said,

    What wit ! But, I’m afraid I could never keep up !

    • 2

      beebeesworld said,

      My father inherited his maternal Aunt Bettie’s journals, photos, bookes, etc . I
      A lot of the things we went and picked up in Dec 1991, with baby Andrew in tow,were put in a box in a moldy corner and some were ruined. I worked hard to
      what I could, and then-what a pleasant surprise, I found three more places where Aunt Bettie stuff was stored. The poem was in one of the ones I found yesterday-I didnt know women would write down such racy poetry, etc in the 1940’ds. but the poem on the next page made me blush-I couldnt print it! Love ya, Aunt Bettie!

  2. 8

    beebeesworld said,

    wow-got it! beebee


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

